Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services “Annual Report Medical Assistance Program Fiscal Years 2013, 2014 and 2015”


Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) waivers, authorized under 1915(c) of the Social Security Act, allow the State to provide specialized long term care services in an individual’s home or community. The 1915 (c) Waivers were initiated by the federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) in 1981. Illinois’ first HCBS waiver programs began in 1983. HCBS waivers have enabled the State to tailor services to meet the needs of particular target groups. Within these target groups, the State is also permitted to establish additional criteria to further specify the population to be served on a HCBS waiver. The State has the discretion to design the waivers as they choose, within certain parameters For example, States may choose the number of consumers to serve, the services provided, and whether or not the program is statewide. Federal CMS continually reviews the waivers and requires each waiver to prove cost neutrality in comparison to institutions. Initial waivers are approved for three years, and waiver renewals have a five year term.

State Policies & Initiatives: 
Medicaid & Employment
  • Medicaid Agencies
  • Other
  • Home and Community Based Services (HCBS)
  • Department of Health
Date Enacted: