MO DoE Community Transition Teams


Community Transition Teams (CTT's) elevate community awareness of and commitment to the improvement of post-secondary outcomes of youth with disabilities. Since 2008, the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) and the KU Transition Coalition have partnered to develop and train 42 CTT's across Missouri. This process is accomplished with the collaboration of school personnel, students, families, and community stakeholders to provide seamless and transparent management of staff and resources. The University of Kansas Transition Coalition provides ongoing technical assistance to the CTT's in their development, training, and in meeting the goals of their strategic plans. During the 2014 school year, training will not be held to develop new teams. Instead, focus is on technical assistance for sustainability. 

State Policies & Initiatives: 
Training/Capacity Building
  • Department of Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities
  • Department of Education
  • Other
  • Cross-Agency Collaboration / Partnerships
  • Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE); KU Transition Coalition