Transitions to Community Living Initiative

North Carolina

~~“The Transitions to Community Living Initiative (TCLI) provides eligible adults living with serious mental illnesses the opportunity to choose where they live, work and play in North Carolina. This initiative promotes recovery through providing long-term housing, community-based services, supported employment and community integration.

Local Management Entities/Managed Care Organizations (LME-MCO) / Providers

The Transitions to Community Living Initiative has six primary components:
1.In-Reach and Transition — Providing or arranging for frequent education efforts and discharge planning targeted to individuals in Adult Care Homes (ACHs) and state psychiatric hospitals.
2.Diversion — Providing informed choice regarding housing options to individuals with Serious Mental Illness (SMI) or a Serious and Persistent Mental Illness (SPMI) considering admission to an ACH.
3.Housing — Providing community-based supportive housing with tenancy supports.
4.Supported Employment — An evidence-based practice to assist individuals in preparing for, identifying, and maintaining integrated, paid, competitive employment.
5.Assertive Community Treatment — An evidence-based treatment and support model of services offering intensive customized, community-based services for people with mental illness.
6.Quality Management — using data to evaluate progress and outcomes.

Each component has settlement milestones. Implementation plans are completed during collaborative work group sessions that are open to the public.”

State Policies & Initiatives: 
  • Other
  • Mental Health
  • North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
Date Enacted: